Bullet Train loved it as much as I did.

Favourite Frankel Memories

Bullet Train's rider Ian Mongan selects Frankel's finale race at Ascot in October 2013.

QIPCO Champion Stakes

One of the best aspects of the Frankel story was that it had so many key players, aside from trainer Sir Henry Cecil and jockey Tom Queally.

His groom Sandeep Gauravaram became a familiar figure to race fans and Shane Fetherstonhaugh, who rode the horse each day at home, also played a major part.

Then there was Bullet Train, the three-parts brother to Frankel. He gained star billing for accompanying his younger sibling just about everywhere, both on the gallops in Newmarket and also in six of his races.

'Bullet' was ridden in five of them by Ian Mongan, who looks back on Frankel's racing days with a real fondness. In particular the jockey recalls that special and emotional British Champions Day at Ascot last October when the curtain finally came day on Frankel's glittering career after a 14th straight win.

"It was kind of a fairytale ending," says Mongan, who rapturouosly celebrated like all of Frankel's huge fan club, despite coming home some 14 lengths behind his stable-mate.

"I was last and punched the air…I don’t think any jockey has ever done that. You'd have to be pretty heartless not to get wrapped up in the Frankel story.

"That last day at Ascot, I’ve never experienced anything like that. The crowd of 30,000-plus people cheering one horse, you don’t get that – not even at Royal Ascot.

"It was a big responsibility on my part but Bullet Train was a fantastic horse and he knew his job.

"Jumping out the stalls, he was quickly into his stride but if you took a pull on him, he’d take a pull and go whatever pace you wanted him to. He wouldn’t tear off in front....he was the perfect lead horse.

"It's fantastic to have been part of it – Bullet Train loved it as much as I did."

Main Menu

Frankel Facts

Frankel is the only horse to have been crowned Cartier Horse Of The Year for two successive years (2011 and 2012), and only the second horse to win the accolade more than once (Ouija Board - in 2004 and 2006 - is the other).